From Microsoft Corporation
MC217339, Stay Informed, Published date: Jun 25, 2020
Your users will soon be able to add shortcuts to shared folders in OneDrive and SharePoint shared libraries, and access those shortcuts from their OneDrive.
When this will happen
- This public preview will slowly roll out in late July.
- We will move from public preview to general availability by the end of September.
How does this affect me?
Users will be able add a shortcut to any shared folder from Shared with me or Shared libraries in OneDrive or from SharePoint.
After a user adds a shortcut, it will appear in their OneDrive as a folder with a link icon at the OneDrive root. Owner information will be visible in the Sharing column to differentiate it from their content.
Users will be able to access these shortcuts in OneDrive on the web, the OneDrive sync app, the OneDrive Android app, and Microsoft Teams. Support for additional products, such as the OneDrive iOS app, will be available in the next few months.
When syncing OneDrive, these shortcuts will automatically appear in OneDrive across all devices. The exception: if a user adds a shortcut to a SharePoint folder that they were already syncing, that previously synced folder will remain where it is in File Explorer and they will not see the new shortcut in their OneDrive folder. This is a limitation of Public Preview which will be addressed before the feature is generally available.
These shortcuts will respect all policy, compliance, and permission settings from the source. If a user loses access to a shortcut, they will see an “Access Denied” error when they next navigate into that shortcut and will be prompted to remove it.What you need to do to prepare
During Public Preview, this feature will be enabled by default and admins will be able to disable it using a script.
If you choose to opt-out, use the Set-SPOTenant command via Admin PowerShell.
- The command is Set-SPOTenant -DisableAddShortcutsToOneDrive $true
When the feature is disabled, the command to add folders will be removed; any folders that have already been added will remain on the user’s computer.