From Microsoft Corporation
MC208414, Stay Informed, Published date: Apr 2, 2020
We’ve gotten a lot of feedback from people who are unable to delete a document because they had it open in another tab on a different computer, or because someone else had it open and forgot about it, effectively locking the document. This feature allows you to override that lock and delete an Office file (such as Word, Excel, or PowerPoint) when you or someone else has it open, whether intentionally or not. The new functionality will be available to people who want to delete items from their own OneDrive, and to all members of a document library who already have permission to delete files.When this will happen
- We’ll be gradually rolling this out to Targeted Release customers in early April.
- The roll-out will be completed to all customers by the end of April.
This message is associated with Microsoft 365 Roadmap ID 62665How this will affect your organization
People who try to delete a file that is open in another location will see a message asking them if they are sure they want to delete the file even though someone else may be editing the file.
They may then proceed with the delete action, or close the message and allow other users to continue editing uninterrupted.
People who are actively editing a file when someone else deletes it will see a message explaining that they no longer have access to the file, and in some cases, advising them to save a copy of the document so that work isn’t lost.
Example of the error banner in PowerPoint:
Example of the error banner in Word on the web:
Example of the error banner in Visio on the web:
The deleted documents can always be restored from the Recycle Bin of the site or the OneDrive where it was deleted from.