Microsoft Technical Bulletins

The latest updates for all the Microsoft Products you use every day.

Written by Richard Quatier

My goal is to help your business by integrating processes that automate mundane tasks and simplify complex ones without breaking budgets.

Categories: OneDrive

November 3, 2020

Blog Home

Prevent/Fix: Removal of EEEU policy as default

From Microsoft Corporation

MC225111, Prevent or Fix Issues, Published date: Oct 26, 2020
Admin impact, User impact

In August 2019, Microsoft implemented updated OneDrive for Business default sharing policies for all existing accounts. To better align with these updated default policy settings, we are targeting a policy update to OneDrive for Business accounts created before August 2019 with personal lists.

This change will remove the Everyone Except External Users (EEEU) policy as default and perform a full permissions reset for personal lists created within these accounts. As a result, any users that these personal lists were previously shared with will be unable to view the list until the list owner reinstates the sharing permissions.

When will this happen:

We will start implementing this change beginning on November 1, 2020 and continue through the end of the 2020 calendar year.What do I need to do to prepare:

Users who wish to self-mediate before the policy changes are rolled out may review and update their site permissions by following the directions below:

  1. Navigate to Site settings -> Site Permissions on your ODB (OneDrive for Business).
  2. Select the Everyone Except External Users permission and click on Remove user permissions.

For personal lists that have already inherited the EEEU claim, you can self-mediate by removing the claim by clicking on the “Stop sharing” option on a per list basis. More details about how to do this can be found in Stop sharing OneDrive or SharePoint files or folders, or change permissions.

Users with lists that are affected by this update may take the following actions to re-instate the desired sharing permissions:

  • Open the list that you want to update sharing permissions for and select “Share”
  • Enter the names of the people that you want to re-share the list with.

More details about how to do this can be found in Share a list or list item.

You May Also Like…

OneDrive: Android – Jump to Page for PDF viewing

OneDrive: Android – Jump to Page for PDF viewing

QuixTec provides technical bulletins 'unaltered' from Microsoft. As an authorized Microsoft Partner, experienced SharePoint development group and Office 365 expert, QuixTec's' custom online or on prem solutions include the latest...

13 + 11 =

Call Now

(425) 367-9025

17939 95th Place NE

Bothell, WA 98011