Microsoft Technical Bulletins

The latest updates for all the Microsoft Products you use every day.

Written by Richard Quatier

My goal is to help your business by integrating processes that automate mundane tasks and simplify complex ones without breaking budgets.

Categories: Exchange Online

March 5, 2022

Blog Home

REST API for On-Premises Mailboxes Preview Ending

Exchange Online, Microsoft 365 Experts

From Microsoft Corporation
Technical Bulletin MC338988 · Published Mar 4, 2022

ACTION REQUIRED by March 2023

Message Summary

Upcoming, we will be retiring the preview program enabling REST API access to on-premises mailboxes for Hybrid Exchange organizations.

Note: This will impact those who write code against Exchange mailboxes.

Key points

  • Timing: Beginning early March 2023, we will begin to return errors for any requests made for mailboxes that remain on-premises.
  • Action: Use Microsoft Graph for Exchange Online and Exchange Web Services (EWS) for Exchange Server on-premises
  • Roll-out: tenant level

 How this will affect your organization:

FAQ:

What API(s) should I use to work with Hybrid Orgs, where some mailboxes are in Exchange Online, and some are on Exchange Server?

  • You should continue to use Microsoft Graph to work with Exchange Online mailboxes and use EWS to work with Exchange Server (on-premises) mailboxes.

Wasn’t EWS going away?

  • In 2018 we announced EWS in Exchange Online would no longer receive feature updates. But we have no plans currently to change the way EWS works on-premises, so using Microsoft Graph for Exchange Online and EWS for Exchange Server on-premises is the current recommendation.
  • If you choose to continue using EWS against Exchange Online mailboxes, you should ensure that it uses OAuth (as Basic Authentication is being turned off in Exchange Online). You should also know that it now allows restricting access to mailboxes access through mailbox access policies.

Where can I get help on using Microsoft Graph?

Learn more:

Additional information

Blog

TECHNICAL BULLETIN END

QuixTec provides this and other technical bulletins unaltered from Microsoft. As an authorized Microsoft Partner, we ensure that all our solutions we deliver to you include the latest Microsoft updates.

ABOUT US: QuixTec, LLC is a U.S. certified Veteran Owned, modern DevOps organization and Microsoft Partner that specializes in Microsoft SharePoint, Microsoft365 expertise & HTML5 technologies for small to enterprise-sized organizations. The founder, Richard, has 30 years of experience working with several notable companies that include World Vision, Expedia, Microsoft, Levi Strauss, NASA, Boeing Aerospace, Los Alamos National Laboratory, and the U.S. Air Force, to name a few.  QuixTec is in the Seattle area. Phone today for a free consultation and project estimate:

(425) 367-9025

LEARN MORE

SharePoint Development ServicesSharePoint DevelopmentCustom Software DevelopmentMicrosoft 365 ExpertsMicrosoft 365IT Staffing ServicesIT StaffingWordPress Development ServicesSEO Services

You May Also Like…

Upcoming behavior change to the “DoNotRewrite” List

Upcoming behavior change to the “DoNotRewrite” List

Exchange Online, Microsoft 365 Experts, SharePoint Development Services From Microsoft CorporationTechnical Bulletin MC373889 · Published May 4, 2022 Message Summary With the deployment of the Tenant Allow/Block List, as being the single...

Migrating the Safe Links Block List to Tenant Allow Block List

Migrating the Safe Links Block List to Tenant Allow Block List

Exchange Online, SharePoint Development Services, Microsoft 365 Experts From Microsoft CorporationTechnical Bulletin MC373880 · Published May 4, 2022 Message Summary Beginning in June organizations will no longer have the ability to add...

Configuration Change in Name parameter for Exchange Online

Configuration Change in Name parameter for Exchange Online

Exchange Online, SharePoint Development Services From Microsoft CorporationTechnical Bulletin MC365786 · Published Apr 30, 2022 Action Required by May 31, 2022 Message Summary We're making some changes to the way Name parameter is being...