Microsoft Technical Bulletins

The latest updates for all the Microsoft Products you use every day.

Written by QuixTec LLC

My goal is to help your business by integrating processes that automate mundane tasks and simplify complex ones without breaking budgets.

December 20, 2021

Blog Home

(Updated) Records Management–Announcing public preview of adaptive policy scopes for retention and label policies

From Microsoft Corporation
Technical Bulletin MC280914 · Published Aug 25, 2021 · Last updated Dec 2, 2021

Message Summary

Updated December 02, 2021: We have updated the rollout timeline below. Thank you for your patience.

This new feature (preview), Adaptive policy scopes, will allow data administrators to scope retention policies and retention label policies to a dynamic set of users, SharePoint sites, or Microsoft 365 Groups. This is enabled by using the properties or attributes associated with these locations. Adaptive policy scopes work with all locations, including Exchange mailboxes, Microsoft 365 Groups, SharePoint sites, OneDrive accounts, Teams chats, channel messages (including private channels), and Yammer user and community messages.

  • Before this release, admins had to manually manage what was included in each policy by creating multiple custom scripts to add or remove locations from a policy. Adaptive policy scopes will automatically add and remove applicable locations to a policy as properties change for the associated user, site, or group.
  • Additionally, adaptive policy scopes are not subject to previous per-policy limits of only including 100 sites or 1000 mailboxes per policy which often caused duplicate policies in large organizations.

This message is associated with Microsoft 365 Roadmap ID: 70578.

When this will happen:

Public preview: will begin rolling out in mid-October (previously early September) and be complete by the end of October (previously mid-October).

Standard release: will begin rolling out in mid-January (previously mid-November) and be complete by mid-February (previously end of December).

How this will affect your organization:

When this feature rolls out, Compliance administrators will be able to create adaptive scopes and apply one or more of these scopes to retention policies and retention label policies.

None of your existing policies will be affected by this feature. If you plan to replace the existing policies with new adaptive policies, we recommend creating the new adaptive policies before deleting the existing policies.

What you need to do to prepare:

There is nothing you need to do to receive this feature and it will not affect your existing policies. You may consider updating any training or reference material for your Compliance administrators and determining if you have policies which would benefit from using adaptive policy scopes.

Learn more:

If you are interested in using adaptive policy scopes as they are enabled in your tenant, we recommend watching the webinar where we announced the private preview of this feature.

Note: We will be hosting a webinar on September 20th, 2021, which will describe in detail how to use this feature and we will be providing you a sign up link within a week or two in another MC update.

TECHNICAL BULLETIN END

QuixTec provides this and other technical bulletins ‘unaltered’ from Microsoft. As an authorized Microsoft Partner, we ensure that all our solutions we deliver to you include the latest Microsoft updates.

ABOUT US: QuixTec, LLC is a U.S. certified Veteran Owned, modern DevOps organization and Microsoft Partner that specializes in Microsoft SharePoint, Office 365 expertise & HTML5 technologies for small to enterprise-sized organizations. The founder, Richard, has 30 years of experience working with several notable companies that include World Vision, Expedia, Microsoft, Levi Strauss, NASA, Boeing Aerospace, Los Alamos National Laboratory, and the U.S. Air Force, to name a few.  QuixTec is in the Seattle area. Phone today for a free consultation and project estimate:

(425) 367-9025

LEARN MORE

SharePoint Development ServicesSharePoint DevelopmentCustom Software DevelopmentMicrosoft 365 ExpertsMicrosoft 365IT Staffing ServicesIT StaffingWordPress Development Services

You May Also Like…

OneDrive and SharePoint: HEIC File support

OneDrive and SharePoint: HEIC File support

OneDrive and SharePoint: HEIC File support for Edit HVC OneDrive for Business, SharePoint Online, Microsoft 365 From Microsoft CorporationTechnical Bulletin: MC314016 · Published Jan 13, 2022 Message Summary This new feature update will...

Updates to OneDrive Sync admin reports

Updates to OneDrive Sync admin reports

Updates to OneDrive Sync admin reports (Public Preview) in the Microsoft 365 Apps Admin center OneDrive for Business, Microsoft 365 From Microsoft CorporationTechnical Bulletin MC313654 · Published Jan 12, 2022 Message Summary The...

(Updated) OneDrive: Sync client support for Apple

(Updated) OneDrive: Sync client support for Apple

(Updated) OneDrive: Sync client support for Apple Silicon (Preview)Microsoft 365 From Microsoft CorporationTechnical Bulletin MC299920 · Published Nov 24, 2021 · Last updated Jan 11, 2022 Message Summary Updated January 11, 2022: We have...